HIC | Humboldt Perspectives Study Abroad

Humboldt education with hands-on learning and cultural immersion.

Program

  • Three-month study program with five courses per week
  • Subject courses with interdisciplinary approaches and German classes
  • Intercultural training to reflect on the cultural experience and gain global skills
Course List

Time

  • Spring 2022:
    9 February –
    20 May

Participation

  • International undergraduate students from all academic disciplines
Application

Humboldt education with hands-on learning and cultural immersion.

Program

What is it about?
  • Three-month study program with five courses per week
  • Subject courses with interdisciplinary approaches and German classes
  • Intercultural training to reflect on the cultural experience and gain global skills
Course List

Time

When does it take place?
  • Spring 2022:
    9 February –
    20 May

Participation

Who can participate?
  • International undergraduate students from all academic disciplines
Application

The program consists of academic courses as well as accompanying intercultural training, German courses, and excursions in Berlin.

Courses are taught in English and are designed for undergraduate students. They are open to students of all subject areas and offer an interdisciplinary approach to a wide range of topical issues related to Berlin, Germany, and Europe.The courses are related to the fields of urban development and ecology, culture and society, migration, politics, philosophy, and different aspects of German history. Students may also select a German language class for beginners (A1).

Humboldt Perspectives Study Abroad builds on Alexander and Wilhelm von Humboldt’s long-standing insight that traveling to new places, questioning seemingly self-evident things, and exchanging ideas between students and researchers, are fundamental to research and teaching. The program aims to give international students the opportunity to explore new places and topics, and to expand their own horizons in many of ways:

  • Courses create an interdisciplinary learning environment and look at the seminar topics from unusual, surprising, and inspiring angles. They involve excursions into the city of Berlin to address and discover its diversity and history from different disciplinary perspectives.
  • The accompanying intercultural training is an integral part of the program. It takes place at the beginning as well as throughout the study period. Students reflect on their study abroad experience and learn more about cultural diversity in class and Berlin.
  • Lecturers use various interactive working methods to make the course a rich learning experience for all participants. Students are encouraged to express, discuss and exchange different ideas. They develop new perspectives on their host and also their home country. The students‘ diverse backgrounds and experiences are taken into account for the learning process.


The program aims to enable students to develop subject-related knowledge, academic working skills, and intercultural competence.

Application

Eligibility and application procedures of the programs. Learn more

Fees and Funding

Financial topics including fees, discounts, payment methods and funding opportunities. Learn more

Certificates and Credits

Facts on certificates, transcripts, credits, and transferability of credits. Learn more

Practical Information

Visa application, accommodation in Berlin, and insurance. Learn more

Follow us

HIC | Humboldt Perspectives Study Abroad

Humboldt Perspectives Study Abroad bietet Bachelor-Studierenden aus aller Welt die Möglichkeit, einen dreimonatigen Studienaufenthalt an der Humboldt-Universität zu absolvieren. Die Studierenden können entweder im Herbst (September bis Dezember) oder im Frühjahr (Februar bis Mai) in Berlin studieren.

Das Programm besteht aus einem wissenschaftlichen Kursangebot sowie begleitenden interkulturellen Trainings, Deutschkursen und Exkursionen in Berlin.

Die Seminare werden auf Englisch unterrichtet und sind auf Bachelor-Niveau konzipiert. Sie stehen Studierenden aller Fachrichtungen offen und bieten einen interdisziplinären Zugang zu einer Vielzahl aktueller Themen mit Bezug zu Berlin, Deutschland und Europa. Thematisch widmen sich die Kurse den Bereichen Stadtentwicklung und Ökologie, Kultur und Gesellschaft, Migration, Politik, Philosophie sowie verschiedenen Aspekten deutscher Geschichte. Die Studierenden haben auch die Möglichkeit, Deutschkurse auf Einstiegsniveau (A1) zu belegen.

Das Programm Humboldt Perspectives Study Abroad bezieht sich auf die altbewährte Erkenntnis von Alexander und Wilhelm von Humboldt, dass das Reisen an neue Orte, das Infragestellen scheinbar selbstverständlicher Dinge, und der Austausch von Ideen zwischen Studierenden und Forschenden grundlegend für Forschung und Lehre sind. Das Programm gibt internationalen Studierenden die Möglichkeit, neue Orte und Themen zu entdecken und in vielerlei Hinsicht ihren Horizont zu erweitern:

  • Die Kurse schaffen eine interdisziplinäre Lernumgebung und betrachten die Seminarthemen aus ungewöhnlichen, überraschenden und inspirierenden Blickwinkeln. Sie beinhalten Exkursionen in Berlin, um deren Vielfalt und Geschichte aus verschiedenen Perspektiven zu erkunden.
  • Das begleitende interkulturelle Training ist fester Bestandteil des Programms. Die Workshops finden sowohl zu Beginn als auch im Verlauf des Programms statt. Dabei bilden Studierende aus der ganzen Welt und aus Deutschland eine Gemeinschaft und reflektieren ihre Auslandserfahrungen aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven.
  • Die Lehrenden nutzen interaktive und studierenden-zentrierte Methoden, um allen Teilnehmenden im Kurs eine vielfältige Lernerfahrung zu ermöglichen. Die Studierenden werden ermutigt, unterschiedliche Ideen zu formulieren, zu diskutieren und auszutauschen. Außerdem entwickeln sie neue Perspektiven auf ihr Gast- und auch ihr Heimatland. Die verschiedenen Hintergründe und Erfahrungen der Studierenden werden in den Lernprozess miteinbezogen.


Es ist das Ziel des Programms, die Studierenden in die Lage zu versetzen, sowohl Fachwissen zu erwerben und wissenschaftliche Arbeitsweisen zu lernen, als auch interkulturelle Kompetenzen zu entwickeln.

Bewerbung

Zugangsvoraussetzungen und Anmeldeverfahren der Programme. Weiterlesen

Entgelte und Fördermöglichkeiten

Finanzielle Themen rund um Gebühren, Ermäßigungen, Zahlungsarten sowie Fördermöglichkeiten. Weiterlesen

Zertifikate und ECTS

Fakten zu Teilnahmebescheinigungen, Transkripten, ECTS Credits und Übertragbarkeit von Credits. Weiterlesen

Praktische Informationen

Visaangelegenheiten, Unterkunft in Berlin und Versicherungen. Weiterlesen

Follow us